Senate Term Leaders PhotoSPRINGFIELD — Majority Caucus Whip Iris Y. Martinez (D-Chicago) issued the following statement in response to the Illinois Senate adopting term limits for Senate leaders:

“Term limits for Senate leadership is the right thing to do. No one should be making a career out of being a legislative leader. For Illinois to function properly, it’s imperative that we have fresh ideas and new people leading state government. I hope the Illinois House will follow the Senate’s lead and adopt term limits for the Speaker of the House and the House Minority Leader.”

Under the term limits plan backed by Martinez, the Senate President and Senate Minority Leader would be limited to five terms apiece. Terms are for two years, so this would be a 10-year limit.

Yesterday’s action imposed term limits on leadership posts by Senate Rule, which has the effect of law in the Senate.


Category: News Releases

Office Information

Springfield Office:
413 Capitol Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782-8191
District Office:
2921 N. Milwaukee Ave.
Chicago, IL 60618
(773) 278-2020